The new troll free way of YouTube commenting is being rolled out to individual users and, as expected, Google are putting quite the spin on Google + integration. As we confirmed in September, the new feature was initially limited to channel pages but every user should expect a change within the next few days. YouTube have been trying to tackle the issue of trolling and spamming for years and they are changing the way that comments appear below YouTube videos – from now on they will rise to the top based on relevancy rather than recency.
Anyone can still comment, they don’t need a Google+ account to do so, but those with one will find that comments from people they are connected with (or people connected to people they are connected with, Kevin Bacon stylee) will take precedence. Also, if they share a video to their Google+ page, it will link back to the original YouTube video page.
The new system comes into place to help users cope with overtly negative, harmful, insulting or plain irrelevant comments left by others. YouTube promise the following:
Comments you care about move to the top: You’ll see posts at the top of the list from the video’s creator, popular personalities, engaged discussions about the video, and people in your Google+ Circles. You can still see the most recent comments by switching from “Top Comments” to “Newest First.”
Join the conversation publicly or privately: You can choose to start a conversation so that it is seen by everyone, only people in your Circles, or just your bestie. Like Gmail, replies are threaded so you can easily follow conversations.
Easily moderate comments: If you also post videos on your channel, you’ll have new tools to review comments before they’re posted, block certain words or save time by auto-approving comments from certain fans.
YouTube confirmed today that if you have connected your account to a Google+ profile or page and can start using the commenting feature now, and have provided a little video demonstration of how it’s all going to work: