3rd Annual Streamys Announce Hosts and Nominees

3rd Annual Streamys Announce Hosts and Nominees

Share on

The 3rd Annual Streamy Awards will be taking place at the Hollywood Palladium on February 17 and will be streamed live courtesy of Coca-Cola.  The Streamys return after a 3-year hiatus after the 2010 show drew all sorts of criticism and last year brought the inaugural International Academy of Web Television Awards into the fold.  The Streamys have always seemed to be the one trying to be video’s “Oscar,” and this is highlighted by the involvement of Tubefilter and Dick Clark Productions in bringing the Streamy back.  You can vote on a couple of these.  So let’s check out the details.

3rd Annual Streamy Awards: They’re Back

A complete list of categories and their nominees can be found here.  And here’s the video announcement:

The ones you can vote on are for Personality of the Year and Series of the Year.  Voting started today and will last until February 11.  You can go to www.streamys.org and cast your vote.  And you can buy tickets to this event here (at some point).

So here are the nominees for Personality of the Year:

  • Ashley Clements
  • Bernie Su
  • Brad Bell
  • Chester Se
  • Grace Helbig
  • Mary Kate Wiles
  • Megan & Liz
  • Ryan Higa
  • The Fine Brothers

This year’s nominees for Series of the Year are:

  • Bro Team Pill
  • Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn
  • Husbands
  • Kids React
  • MyMusic
  • Red vs. Blue
  • SourceFed
  • The Lizzie Bennet Diaries
  • The Young Turks
  • Visto Bueno

Interesting seeing Halo 4 and Red vs. Blue competing against each other here.  As Red vs. Blue is basically the “comedy Halo.”

But of course these aren’t the only awards, just the ones you can vote on.  The other categories go into writing, acting, directing, by genre, etc.  I see a favorite of mine like The Booth at the End is nominated a couple of times.  What’s interesting is The Guild usually has a billion nominations in these things and this year, I can see only two: for Best Use of Fashion & Design and for Felicia Day’s writing.  I kind of wonder if there was a conscious effort to avoid making these the Felicia Day Show like they seem to have done in the past.

Hosts include George Takei, iJustine, Shay Carl, Larry King, Jackson Rathbone, Shane Dawson, Lance Bass, Shira Lazar, Vanessa Marano, Joe Penna (Mystery Guitar Man), Ty Pennington, Pauley Perette, Charo, Eden Sher, the cast of SourceFed, and Kirsten Vangsness.  I can only guess there will be more.

Awards show is February 17.  Let’s hope they can avoid all the negativity from last time!


Video Industry

Share on

Read More Insights

© 2019 Tubular Insights & Tubular Labs, Inc.