They announced they were coming last month and now nominations are open for the first YouTube Music Awards – and there’s a couple of surprises. There are the usual suspects like Eminem, One Direction, Rhianna and Taylor Swift but YouTube are also promoting more ‘home’ acts than expected with the inclusion of Epic Rap Battles, Walk Off The Earth and ThePianoGuys.

The awards, which will be live streamed from New York on the 3rd of November will feature M.I.A, Lady Gaga and Avicii among the headline acts. Viewers can nominate their favorite artists on the official YouTube site and share their vote across Twitter, Facebook or Google+. The nominations have been decided on the levels of engagement the videos and musicians have received on YouTube over the last 12 months. Here’s the full line up of acts:

Nomination For Video of the Year

Epic Rap Battles Of History
 – Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney

Demi Lovato –­ Heart Attack

Girls’ Generation –­ I Got A Boy

Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj) –­ Beauty And A Beat

Lady Gaga ­– Applause

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) –­ Same Love

Miley Cyrus ­– We Can’t Stop

One Direction ­– Best Song Ever

PSY ­– Gentleman

Selena Gomez –­ Come & Get It

Who we’d like to win: ERB!!

Who is going to win: One Direction (Scream!!!!)

Nomination For Artist of the Year


Epic Rap Battles of History

Justin Bieber

Katy Perry

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Nicki Minaj

One Direction



Taylor Swift

Who we’d like to win: One Direction (Scream!!!!)

Who is going to win: One Direction (Scream!!!!)

Nomination For YouTube Phenomenon


Gangnam Style

Harlem Shake

I Knew You Were Trouble

Thrift Shop

Who we’d like to win: I Knew You Were Trouble

Who is going to win: Harlem Shake 

Nomination For YouTube Breakthrough

Kendrick Lamar

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Naughty Boy



Who we’d like to win: Naughty Boy

Who is going to win: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Nomination For Response of the Year:

Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) –­ Mirrors

Jayesslee ­– Gangnam Style

Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix ­– Radioactive

ThePianoGuys –­ Titanium / Pavane

Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX) –­ I Knew You Were Trouble

Who we’d like to win: ThePianoGuys

Who is going to win: Walk Off the Earth

Nomination For Innovation of the Year:

Anamanguchi — Endless Fantasy

Atoms For Peace –­ Ingenue

Bat For Lashes ­– Lilies

DeStorm –­ See Me Standing

Toro Y Moi –”Say That”

Who we’d like to win: Toro Y Moi –”Say That”

Who is going to win: Toro Y Moi –”Say That”